The Chugach was formally designated as a National Forest in 1907. It was one of the first reserves to be withdrawn after the National Forest System was established in 1891. This land of multiple uses extends to the recreationist a chance to sightsee, bird watch, fish, hunt, boat, camp, hike, ski, snowmachine or hunt for ice worms.

The Chugach National Forest stretches across South Central Alaska from Prince William Sound to the eastern Kenai Peninsula. The Forest is unique in that there are three distinct landscapes; the Copper River Delta, Prince William Sound and the Eastern Kenai Peninsula all of which are world class destinations for adventurers and nature enthusiasts.

Alaska Travel Tips

Sign up for our 4-part email series to discover critical information for planning your ultimate Alaska vacation!

Alaska Bear


Looking to see bears in Alaska?

Check out these Amazing Alaska Tours.

Think You Know Alaska?

Take the quiz and find out...